ADVICE

Don’t Rain On My Parade

On how to cope with other people’s shitty day
and not take it personal

Elke Van Hoye
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

--

Photo by Gage Walker on Unsplash

So, the other day I wanted to put gas in my car after a busy day at my internship. I felt on top of life and found myself in a very good mood. This would be my last task before I threw myself onto the couch and to not move for the entire evening.

As I can be quite clumsy at times, I parked the car too far from the pomp and on the wrong side, which made it impossible for me to tank. I tried pulling the hose but I couldn’t get close enough. After some wrestling with the pomp, I decided I would drive to another pomp, on the left side. Since everybody around me had seen my clumsiness, I wanted to be able to tank as quickly as possible.

The pomp where I parked my car was the first one in line, not considering the fact that if another driver wanted to tank, they had to drive past me (Shame on me 😅).

And so the story started

Suddenly a woman pulled up her car behind me and lowered her window. Her voice was frustrated as she asked (yeah, let’s call it 'asked’) me to drive the car to the other pomp so she didn’t have to maneuver around mine. I stated that it would be no problem to pass me and go to the other pomp. But not wanting to cause a scene, I moved my car anyway.

When I got out of the car, which I just moved for this woman, she started yelling at me.

“Is it out of laziness you parked there? Or are you just that stupid?!”

I uttered that I moved the car and didn’t see a problem with her having to move across me in the first place.

She continued to yell at me. At which point I was amused with her drama. I only replied to her that she must have had a bad day.

Oh man was she fuming, if eyes could kill I would be dead. She continued to yell at me and confirmed that she indeed had a shitty day.

She didn’t tank for more than 30 seconds and sped away with her tires squealing over the concrete. She left me a bit dazzled but also satisfied that I didn’t let this woman her bad day affect mine.

I didn’t allow her to have that kind of power over me.

Photo by serjan midili on Unsplash

Try not to give anyone the power to control your feelings and behavior

In this particular situation, I didn’t let this woman her bad day influence mine. I chose to acknowledge that she had a bad day and express that she was acting out on me and I wouldn’t stand for it.

I wasn’t going to let her influence my good day by yelling at her and getting all worked up. Instead, I kept my cool and carried on with my day, sending her love and light.

Take responsibility for your own emotions. It’s the only thing you have control over in these situations.

There is something powerful about being in control of your own emotions and reactions.

When people rain on your parade, poke them in the eye with your umbrella.

Ways to stop giving other people power over you

  1. Take responsibility for your own emotions
  2. Keep your boundaries
  3. Don’t let your self-worth depend on other people, or allow other people’s opinions to dictate your choices
  4. Express your emotions (talk in I form) and speak up when you are hurt
  5. Send negative people love and light, even if you don’t mean it

Did you have experiences where you felt like your inner Buddha kicked in and you were able to stay calm when other people showered you with their negativity? I would love to know!

Sending love and light,

El

--

--

Elke Van Hoye
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

Hi, my name is Elke but you can call me El. Weekly articles about mental health — spirituality — traveling — living lightly and just simple randomness