Embracing Imperfections

Our Imperfections Make Us Unique

Aastha Bajaj
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
2 min readDec 22, 2023

--

Photo by Sheelah Brennan on Unsplash

I am a flower
that has not bloomed fully.
I am a half-open bud.
Yet I am beautiful.
I adorn the bouquet
presented to the ailing.
I pride myself in bringing
cheer to their solemn face!

I am the heart that feels.
I don't have heaps of knowledge
that is present in the brain.
I cannot let go of my attachment
to someone I hold dear.
Even if that person
stops caring anymore.
Through cracks on my face,
I still try to find ways
to comfort them
because that keeps me beating!

I am the night lamp
that doesn't glow brightly.
I am not the witness of
merriment and glitter.
Nor do I enjoy the chatter
and laughter of lively parties.
I glow softly during the night
when everything goes silent.
I may not get the attention of anyone
but I pride myself in
ensuring the safety
of the inmates when
all the bright lamps are fast asleep!

I am the air that is not seen.
I can see bright hues all around.
I can smell sweet fragrances too.
I rustle through all the charm and rapture all around.
Yet I don't have any color or flavor of my own.
Nobody is attracted to me.
But I take delight in transporting
the flavors and aromas of others
that leads to new connections among them.
Though I am always solitary,
yet I breathe life into new relations!

--

--

Aastha Bajaj
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

A keen observer who believes in learning from everyone and everything around her. I love to read and write and share thoughts on topics relating to living big.