PROMPTED REFLECTION | POETRY

Emotional Disgrace

A vulnerable place

Amy Marley
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
3 min readDec 16, 2020

--

Sunset at Red Hill Auditorium- photo my own

I read this week’s prompts on the screen
Full-blown resistance intervened

What emotions do you find it hardest to accept within yourself?”

Wanted to leave it sitting on the shelf
The tell-tale sign I needed to address
Time to own up to myself and confess
Emotions that challenge my soul to express

Anger, pride and desire

Those I least admire
In me
Expected me

Why?

I try

To understand what they are telling me
The insights begging to be set free
I still don’t know what they want me to know
I see it in my partner
I see it in my father
I see it in my youngest

It’s my anger on show

Rage out of the cage
In an instant
Inconsistent
Fading then shading

--

--