English Is a Language Not a Measure of Intelligence

Lalita Janette
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
3 min readSep 18, 2022

--

I am a broken English writer who has a message to share

Photo by Guido Fuà on Unsplash

I came upon a post on Linkedin and it triggered me to speak about my pain as a broken English speaker/writer.

Caption from Daniel Abrahams’s Linkedln Profile

English is my second language and I just can’t help wanting to express myself in a language that triggers my insecurity.

As a broken English speaker, I got bullied by native speakers sometimes.

The person said.

“With your English ability, I doubt you can do well as a writer.”

The same person also suggested I should write in my mother language but not English.

or the recent fellow Medium writer's response like this.

The Opinion Caption From Medium’s Response

As a broken English speaker and writer I felt insecure expressing myself. I don’t have enough vocabulary to pour out all my feelings and emotions.

But if someone wants to speak and write in my mother tongue I will never look down at them and said…

--

--

Lalita Janette
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

Writer of Wild Love Holy Island, founder of Dream Maker publication, sharing Love, building Relationships, enjoying Sexuality, exploring the Spiritual realm