A Poem and Essay

Except I Won’t Accept: A Poem and Essay About Forgiveness

Are you ready to let go and let love?

Carmellita
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
2 min readApr 16, 2023

--

“The Greatest Gift” designed by Author: Carmellita in Canva

Except I won’t accept, the hardest of tasks.
Forgiveness, I can, but please don’t ask
me to wash it away and simply forget.
That’s far too much for me to accept.

I’m willing to let go of grudges, anger, hate,
and move on with love before it’s too late.
Yet, my mind holds the colors of the memory.
Oh, my heart feels the layers of our history.

Why are some harms easier for me to forgive
while others I hold on to, and continue to relive
play-by-play as they weigh down my soul
leaving me in a dark past so cold.

Except I won’t accept, I know we all make mistakes,
and forgiveness is the graceful path love gladly takes
to heal the wounds in the rays of the sun
as I joyfully release and move beyond…

Move Beyond the Hurt

--

--

Carmellita
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

Writer, Poet, Storyteller, & Scholar. Co-founder of http://bluelotusliving.com. BA in Speech Communication. Former ghostwriter who came back to life.