FEAR — LESS

LET THE EVICTION PROCESS BEGIN

Lexy Mae
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
2 min readFeb 17, 2024

--

hand holding small sign that reads: what can you do today that you couldn’t do a year ago?
Photo by Miquel Parera on Unsplash

I can’t move, still my hands continually quiver

I wish I could say fear had no hold on me

Can I even pinpoint darkness point of entry

Was it when I was 6, 7, 8, or maybe even 20?

Could fear be generational, or genetics

I have my mother’s eyes, yet

Can I also see the fears she’s hidden inside?

What if I had my father’s size?

Would I also inherit a tough protective side?

One that would find a need not to hide

I want to go, however my feet are welded to the ground

How did fear find its point of entry?

Was it when I was 6, 7, 8, or maybe even 20?

Does fear have a real hold on me?

Immovable as I am, at the same time I’m screaming

NO MORE PLEASE!

Fear did indeed constrain me

Held me down and muffled all sound

Until I fell to my knees, and cried out

LORD HELP ME PLEASE!

How did darkness hide in light?

When did it become hard for me to fight?

How did fear find its point of entry?

Was it when I was 6, 7, 8, or maybe even 20?

I may not know when, but

TODAY the eviction process begins

I want to apologize to the former me

Whether I was 6, 7, 8, or maybe even 20

The me suppressed by fear

The me too afraid to fall on her knees

I’m not judging her

Maybe she didn’t know how, or THE WAY

She didn’t know there was a name ABOVE ALL NAMES

The ONE that fights darkness with FLAMES, and WILL put fear to shame

A LIGHT where shadows will never reign

The eviction process has began

Fear has to GO,

IT… WON’T… WIN

“Do not be afraid or discouraged, for the Lord will personally go ahead of you. He will be with you; He will neither fail you nor abandon you.” (Deuteronomy 31:8, NLT)

Fear can paralyze us, if we let it. It’s not easy, but when fear tries to overshadow the goodness of God, and all His blessings. I’m going to start fighting back. JOIN ME! The beautiful thing about this fight… we don’t have to do it alone :)

--

--