Fearless, She Has Thrived and Grown

An Open Letter of Gratitude On My Birthday

O.J Ebubeoha
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

--

Original Photo of the Author

I woke up emotional today because I’m the luckiest woman on earth. I feel overwhelmed with love so powerful; I cannot begin to express it.

Uncontrolled my emotions poured out as I listened to my mother’s prayers for me on this special day, because somehow, over the last few years, she has helped me cherish each year like a precious gift.

As I matured, my mother ensured that I celebrated each year in a simple style, thankful for all my gifts, grateful for my life, conscious of my blessings, and appreciative of the grace to add one more year to my life.

She encouraged me to remain fearless in my life pursuits and personal growth and made me vow to never take a moment of my life for granted despite my failures, ills, and trials.

That changed everything for me, and I have kept to that vow ever since.

I’m excited because today is my birthday, but it isn’t only about me. It’s about all the people who have made my life special, peaceful, and hopeful, and filled me with so much love, it’s impossible not to shed a tear thinking about all the memories.

It’s also about the people who have held me up when I fell, wiped my tears, stroked my hair, said words of encouragement and hope, urged me on, and cheered when I got back on my feet.

Life is about moments; on a special day like this, I choose to dwell on the moments that shaped, strengthened and filled me with happiness, joy, love, and peace.

Amazingly, my family comes first at the top of my joy and peace givers list. They give me a reason to smile every day and wake up feeling like a queen in my space. My parents may not be perfect, but they have been the most supportive and endearing all my life.

Not to brag, but it doesn’t compare to the enormous amount of happy serum my siblings inject into my life in heavy doses. I’m the luckiest woman to have such wonderful siblings as mine.

Although this year hasn’t been the easiest, I choose to acknowledge my growth and wins and the powerful connection I made with myself instead. The fact that I choose peace over chaos marks the beginning of a continuing journey of self-awareness for me.

My transformations and acceptance of self have been amazing, and I feel fulfilled with my experiences, progress, growth, and failures because it was a part of my learning process.

Original Photo of the Author

As I celebrate my birthday today, I’m grateful for the little things that made me smile, laugh, and cry to my heart’s content. More importantly, I’m grateful for the healthy friendships, relationships, and life-changing decisions I made for myself.

Every year will be different, but I have promised to always stick with the positives because I have the right to be the author of my narrative and the director of my story.

Nothing will take the power away from me. Not even me.

So today, I write an open letter to myself to keep loving, keep living, and keep doing all the shitty things that make me happy. Nothing strikes deeper than this vow, and I intend to keep it.

Happy birthday to me!

Hey, it’s my birthday! So, feel free to celebrate with me, say a prayer, and drop your wishes in the comments. I’m looking forward to reading them.

Want to stay in touch with me on medium? Subscribe to have my newsletters sitting pretty in your inbox.

Bye for now, and Lots of hugs, love, and respect.

--

--

O.J Ebubeoha
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

Holistic Wellness Enthusiast| Storyteller & Romance Author| Freelance Content Writer & Self-Motivator | www.ojebubeoha.com | www.linkedin.com/in/ebubeohajane