Love | Poems | Growth

Finding Meaning in My Second Grade Love Poems

A 2020 love story.

Kristi Tarrant
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
5 min readJan 4, 2021

--

Apparently, I have always been a romantic.

My passion for bringing words to life dates back to when I was a kid. I know this because my Mom hoarded my childhood journals for over 30 years.

Somehow she knew.

That someday I would rekindle this fire and find inspiration by reconnecting with my inner child. The child that didn’t have access to social media and electronics. The child that had paper, pen, and dreams.

She kept great care of my diaries and journals and waited patiently for me to find my way back to my first love…writing.

She mailed my childhood journals to me a few months ago. As I paged through the material from the late 80s and early 90s, my first insights were:

  • There is proof that John Stamos was my first childhood crush,
  • The Buffalo Bills losing the Super Bowl in 1991 didn’t phase me (there is no evidence that the subsequent three Super Bowl losses didn’t sting a little),
  • It snowed a lot in Buffalo, and
  • I loved my Mom…like a whole lot

--

--

Kristi Tarrant
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

Second-time Wifey. Fortune 100 Leader. Blended Fam Mama. Storyteller. Triathlete. Yoga Teacher. I write about: Life | Health | Mindfulness | Self | Leadership