Finding Opportunity in Conflict

A reading to shift our perspective of conflict to expressions of need

Eliza F. Benitez
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
3 min readAug 27, 2021

--

One of the best ways to find fresh questions for the Tarot is to search for articles featuring titles like “questions for introspection” and “questions for self-awareness”.

This weekend, Diana C. gifted her readers with a beautiful list that can inspire us all to slow down and reflect.

There is a treasure trove of thought-provoking prompts waiting for us in articles like hers. Combining them with the Tarot gives us a way to contemplate endless facets of our inner worlds.

Take a look at this wonderful question.

5. How can you handle conflict in such a way that it yields intimacy and helps relationships grow?

When I imagine conflict with others as a means to a deeper bond, I envision Calm within myself followed by Clarity between parties.

Calm

The Hermit

Calm comes from within. The Hermit represents solitude in combination with searching. The Hermit is not hiding, they have retreated purposefully with a lantern in hand to explore the darkness that represents our inner worlds.

I would like to prioritize my inner peace so I can be a source of calm during conflict. Not only for myself but for others too.

I have purposefully made habit of activities that help me explore my thoughts and emotions fully. I journal often and I have a therapist who gets me. I also make it a priority to enjoy the time shared only with myself. Sometimes I think it makes me selfish. However, it is a gift to everyone when we take the time to do things we love and express ourselves honestly.

In my deck, this card goes further and associates The Hermit with action and the solar plexus chakra in the gut. Right now, this card is just gushing about the active pursuit of clarity to establish inner peace within ourselves.

Clarity

The Lovers, reversed

Photo by Jordan Whitt on Unsplash

Then where does The Hermit look to find this source of clarity?

The Lovers represent our first lessons not only in connection and love but in partnership and choices too. On my card, The Fool looks up at a portrait of The Lovers. Reversed, The Fool looks up at me.

Today, I feel the urge to read this reversed card as a spot in my life that needs a little more attention thus turning the card back upright.

The Lovers say to me that I find clarity by seeing the perspective of others, not just of myself.

I can practice reconnecting with that skill every day. I am a mother to a 4-year-old and conflict is a part of my life in a way it never has been before.

When I am at my most frustrated, he is likely at his most vulnerable as well. When I’m so confused about what to try next as a parent, perhaps I need to reconnect with his perspective to navigate these conflicts and help him express his need.

This spread was pulled from The Chakra Wisdom Tarot by Tori Hartman.

--

--

Eliza F. Benitez
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

Science witch and tarot enthusiast casting the magic of self love and empowerment. Join Medium: https://medium.com/@askelf/membership