Grief

poetry

Nidhi M.
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
2 min readApr 29, 2021

--

Image by Lisa at Pexels

The clock struck 11,
the wind blew cold,
everything was where it belonged,
but you were here no more.

No looking back,
no road ahead,
disappeared,
vanished into thin air,
like a candle losing its light,
you were nowhere to find.

Now there’s nothing but pain,
the memories made are in vain,
wonder how long will it take,
to look back at them,
and be able to smile again.

About the lover, you left behind,
grief stricken
they may have lost their mind.
Cried till there were tears no more,
screaming for you to come back home.

About the sister, you left behind,
worried sick,
she can’t sleep at night.
How could it be?
Why did it happen?
Whom do I blame?
She curses life all the time.

About the brother, you left behind,
feeling helpless,
after he did everything to save a life.
Putting a brave face,
for others to rely,
hides in the corner,
unable to bid you goodbye.

About the children, you left behind,
oh, how do I tell you,
they do nothing but deny.
Their eyes have lost the spark,
which came at the sight of you,
you won’t be back,
even if they call,
how cruel, has destiny turned into.

About the parent, you left behind,
no words to say,
they stare blankly at the wall,
all day, all night.
How can they cope,
How are they supposed to grieve,
This loss seems much bigger,
than whatever they accumulated all their life.

In the end to bid you goodbye,
If I ever can,
Oh, my dear friend,
I’ll tell you on the other side,
about the hopes, you took away
when you left this world,
and ascended into the sunlight.

--

--

Nidhi M.
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

I am here to share my thoughts and just live in the moment. Meet me at my blog http://www.thecaffables.com