Hands On the Clock Go Round and Round

Manasi J
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
2 min readMar 28, 2021
Image by Fabricio Verrecchia on Unsplash

For a long time I have been obsessed with time travel, parallel universes. Even some of the cheesiest movies or stories about time travel has kept me raptured. May be because a part of me keeps looking at the past and wonders how my life would have been, if specific events had not happened or if I would have acted differently. Or may be that is what happens, when you have lost a loved one(s) in your life. While you may have learnt to cope but one part of you still longs for that person(s). While remembering them, time seems cruel.

No wonder I was smitten by one of the Netflix series, Dark that deals with convoluted time travel. But even outside of the utterly confusing fiction and time paradox, the opening line struck me as quite accurate. Everything moves in circles. And like many synchronicities of life, I started to notice the circular pattern everywhere in my life. Considering I know that I am not a part of time knot, I started to question why life was moving in circles. In some patterns , I saw myself facing the same problems I had faced years ago, just a slightly altered version of it. Didn’t I learn the lesson last time? Was I supposed to try the path that I didn’t choose last time?

Some other patterns were even more interesting. I had seen this situation but as a bystander, and here I was again, in the same vortex, but this time I was at the center of it. I could sense the thoughts people would have regarding me, because I was “them” years ago. Not sure whether I have been able to articulate that well. But yes, so many judgements that you have passed, stare back at you, it’s just a matter of time, isn’t it.

May be, “Time is a teacher we don’t want, but we need”. It humbles you like no one else does. I have sometimes questioned time, to understand, whether I do really have any control over my life. Or is everything destined. Is our doing things just a fallacy.

Mind numbing, if you keep thinking about. Just like the Mirror of Erised from Harry Potter, trying to catch the reflection of perfectly imagined past or future can drive you mad. Now is the moment. The moment you live is Now.

--

--