Have You Ever Felt the Same Way? Once, I Didn’t Like Myself

A Journey from Self-Doubt to Self-Love

Emerson Lee
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
2 min readJul 19, 2024

--

Once, I didn’t like myself,

I even fantasized about being someone else,

playing their part for a few days.

Once, I didn’t like myself,

from head to toe,

inside and out,

from my voice to my body.

Once, I didn’t like myself.

When others praised and complimented me,

I took it as polite flattery;

when others criticized me,

I absorbed every word, remembered every syllable.

Once, I didn’t like myself.

I disliked my appearance,

lacking a tall figure or slender fingers;

I disliked my mediocrity,

envying others’ talents and skills;

I disliked my awkwardness,

always regretting not saying or doing things better;

I disliked my sensitivity,

being hurt by others’ unintentional words or glances.

Then,

the heavens sent various people to guide me,

events that made me ponder,

all to awaken me,

with a truly persistent intention!

Finally,

slow as I am, I gradually realized:

If “I” don’t love myself,

how can I expect others to love me?

If I don’t love “myself”,

how can I have the ability to love others?

When I began to love myself,

I saw the surprises life holds,

and found the meaning of existence!

Thank you for reading this post!! 💜

Leave 👏 or ✍️ if you like it.

--

--

Emerson Lee
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

Exploring Chinese tradition, psychology, and personal growth, offering insights and guidance at the intersection of wisdom and culture.