Hay-on-Wye

The town of books

VaKnow22
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

--

Photo By Author

I had never visited Hay-on-Wye before; despite only living just over an hour away. Quite simply, it is superb. it’s not for everyone, but it is perfect for me.

It is a book lover’s heaven. Plenty of book shops, all with an incredible variety of books. I spent hours just looking at different books, waiting for one to jump out and call for me to take it home. I had to pace myself and limit my spending to only a handful of books.

Photo By Author

The town, isn’t just about books, it is about a slower way of living. City folk, myself to a certain extent, find these slow living places backward. It is a culture shock for those who live at 100 miles an hour to suddenly slam the brakes on.

But let me tell you, places like Hay-on-Wye have got it worked out. The speed of life there is healthy. The only reason the rest of us race around at breakneck speed is because that’s what we’re supposed to do, right?

Adverts on TV yell at us that their product is the fastest this, or the fastest that. Time saving inventions that will have a profound impact on your life. Get the latest smart phone so you can do 18 different things at once.

--

--

VaKnow22
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

Welsh, New York Ranger fan, veggie, family man, mental health advocate. Attempting to be a writer, support the cause.