Heart and Mind

The heart is for people, and the mind is for goals.

Malli
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
2 min readJul 9, 2024

--

Photo by Elijah Hiett on Unsplash

I had a tough time handling some relationships and failed to develop a bond with my people. I also found it difficult to give my all to my goals.

In both of these lives, I was struggling to express myself, understand people, live the moments with them, and work towards my goal.

I had to change, but how was my quest? After many realisations, I understood where I was wrong.

I had failed to understand the basic rules of life. Where I needed to use my mind the most, I used my heart, and where I should have used my heart, I used my mind.

As my thoughts became increasingly focused on individuals, I began to be judgmental in many aspects. With my goal, even the smallest setback would pain me, causing me to lose interest in it and push it even further.

I needed to strike a balance between these two lives of mine. But I thought of a fresh strategy for dealing with my people and goals.

I thought, Why not give the majority of my heart to my people and the majority of my mind to my goal?

People need love, patience, and feelings that only a heart can provide. Only the heart knows the let-go feeling that is necessary in relationships, whereas a goal needs focus and a no-letting-go feeling, which the mind is good at.
I found logic in this concept and decided to apply it to my life.

Even though I faced some rejections on the way to achieving my goal, I did not let go of the feeling of achieving it. With my focus on the goal, I became stubborn enough to stay with it until I achieved it. It was all possible for me because I applied the majority of my mind to my goal.

On the other hand, my relationships were getting better as I was giving my heart to my people, and I would let go of the smallest disturbance that arose between relationships.

The heart is tender, while the mind is stubborn. Relationships require the gentle approach that only a heart can provide, while ambitions require the powerful drive that only a mind can provide, as the mind never forgets anything easily.

--

--

Malli
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

I feel blessed to write, for that's a rare quality to find.