How a Mockingjay Taught me Tranquility

Miss Arte
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
3 min readMay 19, 2022

Did you know mockingjays are real?

Photo from AdobeStock by Skyler (Standard License)

Something happened this week that had me asking myself whether or not the Mockingjay is a real bird. With a simple google search, the answer to that question: is no. Mockingjays are actually a fictional bird that exists only in the Hunger Games universe. You know that 2012 movie trilogy with children killing each other…

Yes, I promise this post is about me learning the meaning of tranquillity; I couldn’t help myself.

So, Mockingjays are a no; however that didn’t dishearten me, as that’s not to say the fictional bird doesn’t reference any real-life bird that exists, because it does.

More acutely, there are about 17 species of “mockingbirds” not mockingjays, worldwide. Due to my geographical location, at present, the Northern mockingbird would be the bird that opened my heart this week.

I’ve been here for a handful of months now. Although this was the first time, I’ve been in the presence of a mockingbird. Maybe if it had happened sooner… I would feel differently. However, this was a beautiful moment that I believe happened when I needed it. So, instead, I find myself wishing it had lasted longer.

The last this I had expected to happen was this. A moment that had caught me off guard and became the meaning of this quote;

“You should feel beautiful and you should feel safe. What you surround yourself with should bring you peace of mind and peace of spirit.” — Stacy London.

I was sitting in the backyard enjoying the warm weather, listening to the birds’ chirp. It had been a while since I could sit still and not worry about something happening to or around me.

Was I in a state of tranquillity? Oh, hell no!

Although I found myself focusing on an echo, I had given myself a moment, and the world gave it back. It wasn’t like the birds were mimicking car alarms or anything that would have startled me; however, they were full-on communicating. I didn’t notice it; at first, the echo was too far away for me to hear. However, it didn’t take long before I realised a melody was on repeat; I was hearing double.

Interestingly enough, mockingbirds’ Latin name, Mimus polyglottos, means “many-tongued mimic,” because rather than singing their own songs or chirp their own rhythms, northern mockingbirds learn and repeat the songs of other species.

It felt calming to focus on something so simple and beautiful, like all the worries in the world flew away. I’ve always felt like my life is one fast race. I’m rushing to a finish line that doesn’t exist. This moment, however, felt natural. It wasn’t a part of a race; it wasn’t a part of a plan or me controlling the situation. I was in a trance with these birds. I felt for the first time in forever, at peace.

I listened to a beautiful melody being sung, back and forth. It made me realise; that if I can feel free to enjoy the little things, the simple moments. If I can let the days flow without controlling everything. Then maybe, I can find enjoyment in everything.

I know how it sounds; two little birds gave me an epiphany. However, it was more about letting myself be in the moment and noticing the things around me. I now know tranquillity comes when we just let ourselves be in the present.

For me, two birds helped me release it was okay. It was a moment I won’t forget quickly and felt strongly enough about it, to write it down.

Sometimes life has a way of being emotional, unpredictable and just a ‘lot to deal with’. Although being able to find tranquillity when the world is super busy, that’s the trick. Right? Stressing over the small things helps no one and instead harms me. That’s what I learned this week; how to be in the moment.

Is there an animal that has helped you? Do you know how to find tranquillity when you need it?

--

--

Miss Arte
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

British sexually curious women making life changing choices, exploring love, having adventures and writing about all of it in a very confusing world!