How Accepting Your Mortality, Will Push You To Live A Better Life

Prompt: Imagine if you will, a world in which we accept that the date of death, but not the how is determined before you were born. How would that “truth” affect you, your thinking, and your actions?

Riku Arikiri
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

--

Photo by Ahmed Adly on Unsplash

Ever since I was little, as long as I can remember. I have always questioned my mortality and my life. And it dawned on me at a young age, this anxiety that changed my life for the better.

It was a sudden, fleeting feeling, a rush perhaps. It was a moment of awe where I could embrace the wonder that came with the realization.

At any given moment, I could die. My teenage years were the harshest of my life. I learned early on that life will test me time and time again. And I would have to sacrifice myself over and over again.

I had to learn this lesson countless times until I adapted to the ever-changing landscape of my life. In short, I embraced the fact that I could die because of my hindsight from the error within my ways.

Any mistake, however, little could have caused my sudden doom. Suffering at that age was natural to me. Because of the constant abuse, I had to experience at that time, it was the least…

--

--

Riku Arikiri
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

It’s never black or white. Sometimes there’s a bit of spicy red in there as well.