Wednesday Prompt

How I Balance Conflicting Areas of My Life with Spiritual Tools

Things go better with prayer, Inner Listening, boundaries, priorities, and humor.

Marilyn Flower
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
5 min readMar 3, 2021

--

Photo by Peggy Anke on Unsplash

I’m less worried about balance than I am about reducing conflict. In fact, reducing conflict is numero uno!

My life-long pattern, when I wasn’t creating conflict, has been to avoid conflict. Hiding my head in the sand like the cartoon ostrich. Do real ostriches do that? Or only cartoons?

Anyway, the poor cartoon bird has her head buried in the sand and her little arse hanging out for all to see or kick. I say this to remind myself that avoiding not only doesn’t work, it comes back around to bite me in the butt.

Head in the sand, Moi? Photo by Jon Hunter on Unsplash

Even if I don’t reply directly to yesterday’s button-pushing email from my church friend, I can and am replying in consciousness. I’ve been praying for her as well as for guidance on if and how to respond more directly.

A Job for Spiritual Tools

When I find myself drifting into worry and fear over this, I take that as a cue to pray…

--

--

Marilyn Flower
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

Writer, sacred fool, improviser, avid reader, novel forthcoming, soul collage facilitator, prayer warrior and did I say writer? https://linktr.ee/marilynflower