How It Feels Like Being a Highly Sensitive Person

Having a curse and a blessing

Ambuj Khanna
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
3 min readOct 6, 2022

--

This is a baby child. He is wearing a grey T-shirt. His eyes are light blue. His complexion is white. His hair is golden brown. This child appears to be highly sensitive.
Photo by 🇸🇮 Janko Ferlič on Unsplash

High sensitivity is said to be both a curse and a blessing. As a highly sensitive person, I can say this through my experience.

Right from birth, I was extremely sensitive. I still remember the first day I was admitted to school, I was bullied very badly.

I never took an interest in school studies. My teachers used to beat me regularly, every day. I never had friends, and students used to make fun of me. It was because I was very different.

I used to pray every time to God to give me good classmates whenever I would enter the next standard. But all of my prayers were useless and didn’t work at all.

The school was a living hell for me, as there was continuous bullying by students, and beating by teachers.

I always used to feel like an alien on earth, as I was so different from others.

But this was not limited to school, my situation in my home was even worse.

It was because my father used to beat me every day for not studying. He used to humiliate me by taking me outside the house and beating me in front of others.

This used to repeat every day both at school and home, till I reached seventeen years of age.

After seventeen, I became a rebel and started fighting with others (including my father) for my rights.

This was the same time when I became an atheist and completely stopped believing in God. It was due to the pain and suffering I got from society.

During those days, I came in contact with my mentor or my spiritual guru in school. He was a spiritual teacher in my school.

He made me use logic and helped me by giving answers to my questions regarding God.

Those were the days when I got my spiritual awakening and left my Hindu religious conditioning being born into a Hindu family.

This is all about the curse of being born as a highly sensitive person. Now, I will start with blessing.

When I came in touch with my spiritual mentor and his colleagues (who were also spiritual), they told me something very special.

I asked them how I was able to know when my spiritual mentor used to watch me from behind. And also how was my spiritual mentor able to know when I used to watch him?

His colleagues told me that I, as well as my spiritual mentor, were guileless, naive, selfless and tolerant. Yes, my spiritual mentor was also a highly sensitive person!

But I didn’t hear the term “highly sensitive person”. It was only when I was surfing the internet, I came in contact with Dr Elaine Aron’s website ‘The Highly Sensitive Person’.

Dr Elaine Aron is a psychologist who named oversensitivity as high sensitivity and wrote the best-selling book ‘The Highly Sensitive Person: How to thrive when the world overwhelms you’.

After taking the self-test from her website, I came to know that I am a highly sensitive person (HSP).

After that I understood, why is my heart so pure, why am I so compassionate, and why am I so selfless and tolerant.

And these things gave me a sense of relief that besides being a curse, high sensitivity is a great blessing.

Earlier, I had very low self-esteem. But after knowing about myself both through my spiritual teachers as well as from Dr Elaine Aron’s website, my self-esteem rose a lot.

Today, I feel blessed that God has made me a highly sensitive person(HSP). And I think if another HSP reads this, he will also be able to relate to this to some extent.

--

--

Ambuj Khanna
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

I am deeply motivated and driven to raise the consciousness of this world and make this world a better place ❤. You can reach me at ambujkhanna007@gmail.com