How Moving to a Bigger Apartment Almost Destroyed Our Marriage

and how we saved it

Kristina God, MBA
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

--

People photo created by senivpetro from freepic

You know the drill: you go to university, find a job, get married, have children, and move into a nice house or a big apartment. And once you’ve achieved these goals, you have it all. Don’t you?

By the time we were in our mid-30s, my husband and I had reached all of these goals.

However, when we moved from our 80 m² apartment to a larger 160 m² apartment earlier this year, we quickly sensed new stress and conflict in our home.

Suddenly, there was something about our lifestyle that felt deeply, tragically wrong. In hindsight, we felt out of control and on the verge of losing our sanity.

Before the big move, I planned the interior design of the new apartment with 3D models. I got up early to search out the best furniture deals online.

My husband packed boxes and piled them up in the baby’s room. Amongst these towering boxes, we made a little space to work from home.

As new parents, the nights were short. We didn’t sleep anymore when we wanted to sleep. Meanwhile, the days were long. We didn’t get to eat when we wanted to eat or relax when we needed to relax.

--

--

Kristina God, MBA
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

Bestselling Substack writer I Marketing Expert I Top Writer I Helps you write, market and monetize your writing.⚡ Sign up: https://kristinagod.substack.com/