How The Beatles Dramatically Improved My Life

Guitar playing, personal connections, and overcoming trauma (strong content)

Heather Paz
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

--

A woman plays a blue acoustic guitar against a gold background.
Photo by Fidel on Unsplash

In August of 2019, there was a murder in my family. My aunt, whom I was very close to, was killed in her home. She was only 61 years old. I’m not ready to write about the details yet. But I can tell you about one way I survived the shock and loss.

When the real world was too much, I put on my headphones and immersed myself in music.

The Beatles were my go-to that summer. I enjoyed listening to alternate takes of their classics on YouTube. There are a ton from the Abbey Road/Let it Be sessions. Those are my favorite.

“Sleep pretty baby, do not cry,” Paul would croon to me, “and I will sing a lullaby.” Golden Slumbers was a balm for my soul. It helped me sleep on the nights following the tragedy when my brain would not shut down.

“Nothing’s gonna change my world” (Across the Universe). John’s voice soothed me. Those lyrics became my mantra of strength and peace when I felt devastated.

The Beatles were a lifesaver in my teenage years too. In the summer of 1990, my mom was going through her second divorce. She was also recovering from injuries resulting from a domestic assault that almost killed her. (More on that in a…

--

--