How This Drama Gives Me a Sense of What Others Go Through

TW: suicide, and many sensitive topics.

Informative and Innovative
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
3 min readJul 30, 2022

--

Photo by Austin Kehmeier on Unsplash

They say you can’t feel another person's pain until you go through it yourself.

But I don’t think it is necessary to face the same situation to feel a person’s pain. This may not be my personal experience with these topics but this drama has given me a sense of how I can help people who are in pain.

Sometimes watching a drama, movie, or reading a book or novel has taught me many things I didn’t think I needed to know.

That’s precisely what happened to me this time also,

This drama showed me a perspective of the people who are suffering from suicidal thoughts and how I as a human can give them a little support to bring them back from this thought prison.

The drama is called “TOMORROW” which is a Korean drama.

Tomorrow (Korean: 내일; Hanja: 來日; RR: Naeil) is a South Korean television series directed by Kim Tae-yoon and Sung Chi-wook, starring Kim Hee-sun, Rowoon, Lee Soo-hyuk and Yoon Ji-on. Based on Naver webtoon which was published in 2017, the series is about the grim reapers who guide the dead to save the people who want to die. wikipedia.

This is a supernatural drama showing grim reapers but setting aside this supernatural concept of it and focusing on the characters that are shown I realized how they feel, what they have gone through to be at that stage of ending their life, and how with a bit of help and support they can be saved.

In this 16-episode drama, there are 12 stories of different people going through different hardships in life and putting stress on the topic of how I can help them.

This drama shows the victim of school bullying and how it affects that person for years in her life. They also showed the topic of demotivation, the grief of losing a child, the case of sexual assault, the pain of losing your life partner, and how these characters build throughout the drama.

There are many more stories like the precious love between a pet and human, the life story of a War Veteran, and the friendship between two friends.

This drama also has a touch of humor but aside from that, I just cried my eyes out.

The lesson I discovered from this drama is:

. Every individual has their personal life, personal struggles, and personal secrets that they do not need to reveal to the world.

. I don’t know what are they going through in their life.

. How I should not judge others on the base of appearance.

. True friendships exist.

. Intentionally or accidentally I must now no longer harm others.

. Maybe my one hurtful or incorrect phrase may be an addition to their pain.

. The love between a human and a pet is precious.

. How my little assistance can store a life.

and much more.

I would recommend this drama cause there is so much to learn from this.

Thank you for reading.

--

--

Informative and Innovative
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

Hi everyone, It’s good to see you here. I’m writing about growth, tips, self-experiences, and much more. Hope you follow. Thank you.