How to Stop Worrying About the Future

Effective Strategies to Embrace the Present and Reduce Anxiety About Tomorrow

Tayyab Ali
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
2 min readSep 2, 2024

--

Photo by Nik Shuliahin 💛💙 on Unsplash

It is really necessary to stress that caring for the future is something everyone has in them at some stage of their life.

Everyone gets worried about the future, but when one gets worried about things that are beyond his control, then anxiety causes stress and one cannot live in the present.

As the philosopher Seneca once said:

“We suffer more often in imagination than in reality.”

It’s important to know how to give up worrying to have a healthy mind and be happy.

By far the best approach that I have identified and used to deal with future-related anxiety is to shift my attention to what is possible in the future.

It’s important for me to focus on what I can do in the present to make the future different from what I’m experiencing now.

For example, instead of getting stressed because my company might fire me one day, I would find ways to hone my skills, build connections, and always be ready for better employment.

Another suggested technique is to apply mindfulness. This way I can also control the frequent or extreme thinking about what might happen next.

As Eckhart Tolle wisely said:

“Realize deeply that the present moment is all you ever have.”

Practicing mindfulness using methods such as meditation, deep breathing, walking barefoot, or playing with a pet also helps to distract my mind from thinking about the fact that I am waiting for something to happen.

Last on my list is the strategy of imparting realistic goals and dividing them into certain phases.

If I have a direction to follow then the world does not appear so huge anymore.

I think to myself, it’s okay to focus only on the present day and let the coming of the next days happen as they ought to.

Tips to Overcome Worrying About the Future:

  1. Focus on What You Can Control: Prepare yourself from today towards today towards what will happen tomorrow.
  2. Practice Mindfulness: Focus on the present and enjoy the time.
  3. Set Realistic Goals: Further, divide your goals to minimize anxiety and make the achievement of the desired goals seem more plausible.

Therefore by practicing these techniques, we can be able to forget about the future and live a more worry-free life in the present.

If you found this article useful, don’t forget to give it a clap 👏 and share your thoughts in the comments below! 💬 , be sure to follow me for future updates! 🌟

--

--

Tayyab Ali
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

🌟 Exploring ideas, one story at a time ✍️ | Passionate about growth, creativity, and making an impact 🚀 Contact for any Queries tayyabali1282035@gmail.com