KNOW THYSELF, HEAL THYSELF — AWARENESS & GROWTH

I Am Love

A Different Sort Of Mirror

Jenny Starr✨
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
2 min readApr 8, 2022

--

Image By Author

I Am Love

I am Love’s story.
Unplanned.
Unthought.
Unoffered.
Yet, all the same, her story.
With settings and gears, reflected in time.
Places and promises, swept skyward into light.
Called up beyond my own reach
Eyes given real reason to weep,
Seeing all that is and was and will, in a moment of scintillating splendor.
An inheritance of hope I never deserved.
And yet,
And yet,
Something stirs.
As I return to my limitations,
To seeing with time-worn eyes.
Looking dimly to world and words and windows of light.
Haw many more times,
Will I fall short?
Missing the mark set so high,
As I try to regain the purchase,
I was freely given.
When she held my heart,
For the first time.
And now as I look back,
I see that she never let me go,
but gently set me back into my cradle,
The earth that I was promised,
When I was birthed into this broken place.
She is with me still,
In my doubts,
In my despairs,
The quiet nights,
And the nights of the soul.
Always celebrating,
Always hoping,
Always remembering.
That I am made from stars,
The dusty promise of a million cradles of light.
And that what she put inside,
That first moment we met,
Her own brilliant light,
Was me.

--

--

Jenny Starr✨
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

A transgender woman (she/they) learning her way in this beautiful life…queer, curious, thoughtful. I write poetry, LGBTQ and whatever else stirs my spirit...