I am Ugly

Harshit Singh
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
3 min readSep 17, 2021
Photo by Gage Walker on Unsplash

“The day I stopped caring about what others thought, was the day I started feeling beautiful”

Each one of us has felt that we are ugly or not good looking at some or the other times of our lives. My time was today. It was all going well, everything was perfect when puberty decided to show up on my face. The pimples ran their course and left their marks on my skin, and when those marks refused to leave, they scarred not only my face but my self-esteem too. I started feeling less and less confident about myself, I felt scared, I felt alone. I felt as if everything was over, that’s the end of it all, I was in fact, ugly.

I applied lots of products on my face, be it herbal, or chemicals, and all it did was scar my skin further. What now? I thought to myself. I got angry, I got frustrated I hurt myself by punching the walls to let out my anger. I feared hurting other people’s emotions by my anger, so I started hurting myself. But what did I get out of it? A swollen hand, and absolutely nothing productive. I felt bad and I felt sad through it all, and I did not know what to do.

Luckily for me, my friends were there to support me, they held my hand and stood by me through the situation I was going through. Then I read a quote that completely changed me-

“You don’t need to have the perfect face to be beautiful. Being ugly or beautiful is a matter of energy, and true beauty comes from the heart.” -Kristen Stewart

My face is still scarred so is my self-esteem, but my heart is still the same. I am the same person I was and will always be with or without the marks on my face. And the fact is that those marks will go away, it’s natural to get those marks. It took me so many months to understand this and now when I finally get it and stopped worrying, they are starting to go away.

Healing takes time, but it happens. My face is getting cleared again, as nature ran its course, but whenever I fall back to pessimism they will return. All I need to do now is to be positive in life. And that’s what I will tell all my readers, that stay positive. You are all beautiful, all it takes is the right perspective to look at yourself. I learned this all the hard way, and that’s why I am writing this article today. Embrace who you are and any insecurities you might have will either vanish from the mind or the things causing those insecurities will vanish. My face marks are vanishing, slowly but surely and yours will too. Just stay optimistic, keep breathing and keep smiling.

Photo by Wyron A on Unsplash

--

--