I Caught Myself A Tulip

A poem about many lives

Ulf Wolf
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
2 min readAug 6, 2022

--

Photo by Rodion Kutsaev on Unsplash

I caught myself a cockroach
and scurried for a while
then someone stepped on me
or ate
and all went very dark
and I forgot

I caught myself an oak tree
and rustled for a while
the something needed building
bad
and all went very dark
and I forgot

I caught myself an eagle
and soared it for a while
a long long while in fact
I soared
till all went very dark
and I forgot

I caught myself a tulip
and flowered for a while
then someone liked me
way too much
and all went very dark
and I forgot

I caught myself a howling wolf
and hunted for a while
but hunger hunted me as well
and all went very dark
and I forgot

I caught myself a terrorist
and terrored for a while
then one neat whole
between brown eyes
and all went very dark
and I forgot

I caught myself an undertaker
buried for a while
then too much dead
plain got to me
and all went very dark
and I forgot

I caught myself an angel
and harped away a while
but praise and sweetness
in excess
made all go very dark
and I forgot

I caught myself a Chevy truck
but could not find a heart
I pulled and pulled
to get back out
and all went very dark
and I forgot

I caught myself a peeping Tom
and voyeured for a while
but caught the drooling
in my throat
and all went very dark
and I forgot

I caught myself a baby boy
and grew it for a while
and now it’s grown…

--

--

Ulf Wolf
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

Raised by trolls in northern Sweden, now settled on the California coast a stone’s throw south of the Oregon border. Here I meditate and write. Wolfstuff.com.