I Chose Positivity Over Happiness

Happiness is temporary, while positivity stays forever.

Malli
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
2 min read4 days ago

--

Photo by NEOM on Unsplash

One day, I sat down to imagine all the wonderful things happening to me. As I started, I succeeded for a while, but my good imagination was cut short by an evil thought that stated, "It's not going to happen to you."

I suppressed it by telling myself, "All the good I am imagining will happen to me."

And I proceeded with my good imagining, but an evil thought appeared again and said, "You have made a mistake in the past that you may repeat, and thus these good imaginations will never come true."

Again, I suppressed my negative thought by saying, "I have realised my mistake; I won’t repeat it again."

The battle of thoughts continued; negative thoughts were becoming obstacles to my good imagination, and I was trying to suppress them. Fed up with the battle, I stopped imagining.

But this was not the case when I imagined bad, for then good thoughts did not appear to me to stop my bad imagination.

I began to think that there was something wrong with me that I needed to figure out. Why is my mind succeeding in imagining bad and failing while imagining good?

After analysing, I figured out that a bad imagination is a product of my negative thoughts. As I am filled with negativity, it's obvious that my mind will favour my negativity.

I did not want to waste the power of my imagination. I wondered, when can a I have a good imagination?

And the answer was that I can imagine everything being good, either when I am happy or when I am positive.

I thought I should prefer positivity over happiness since happiness is not a constant; I cannot be happy all the time, but positivity is something I can practice and have all the time.

So I started to erase all my Negativity and start filling myself with positivity.

Happiness is wonderful, but it is a fleeting emotion that only exists during happy moments. Being positive is extremely important since it makes our lives easier in difficult times as well.

--

--

Malli
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

I feel blessed to write, for that's a rare quality to find.