I Hope You’re Happy Up There

KTHT June Prompt

A. N. Tipton
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

--

Photo by Ahtziri Lagarde on Unsplash

I hope you’re happy up there
as I lay on my bed down here
wondering where I went wrong
listening to your favorite song
the one that you’d play on repeat
when you tried to go to sleep

I hope you’re happy up there
because now I have no one to share
all the funny stories of my day
or all the things I wish to say
with all the thoughts spinning in my head
all the regrets of my choices instead

I hope you’re happy up there
as the emptiness is too much to bear
where your voice used to fill
the room is now too still
a tomb of sepia memories
with random things and dust filled accessories

I hope you’re happy up there
as I find a reason to care
to get up and get dressed
ignoring the truth that I’m depressed
as gravity fuels my grieving soul
pulling me down into this dark hole

I hope you’re happy up there…

Thank you Diana C. for this June Prompt. I had fun playing with this one.

Thank you so much for reading. Writing is a passion of mine and of many of us here on Medium. So, continue reading, clapping and responding. Please consider subscribing to my work or check me out on Instagram. May the words be with you!

© 2024 A. N. Tipton

--

--

A. N. Tipton
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

I am a Writer, a Lover of Books, a Mother & an Usui Reiki Master who loves to read & write & all things Universal. Words move me, inform me, inspire me.