I Think I L*** You

A Poem Written about the Process of Moving On

huan huan chen
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
2 min readApr 8, 2024

--

god i hate it because i’ll say i don’t miss you

but i wish i could have your hand to hold when the world is cold and

your eyes to look in when i get bored

and you to think of when i sing pretty love songs

when you were mine you were the object of my imagination

when i thought of all the things we could do

but you are still the f***ing object of my imagination

i still get drunk on something styrofoam

I would make AI generated polaroids of you

To fold to my indulgences

I put myself in your path but turn away my face as if I don’t care

I see the receding shape of your back

That I stare at because I know you can see

I watch you walk past the place I usually stand and take satisfaction in the way you look three times

I wish you would look at me the same

I wish I had begged harder

and now I’m mourning the place for you in my heart

I want it to lie there waiting

I don’t want it to fill up time

I want to write poems that show how intense I feel even by a reader who isn’t

perceiving the emotions elevated by the proximity of the situation.

*ur so pretty — Song by Wasia Project

This is part of the book I wrote, which was, at first, a documentation of moving on. I noticed the way the intensity of my emotions tapered off, hence its name:

hhuanc.gumroad.com/l/taperingoff24

Cover designed by me on Canva Pro

It underwent tons of editing and careful sequencing. It would be cool if you checked it out with the above link! That would motivate me to publish this :)

Thank you, have a great day!

--

--

huan huan chen
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

self published poet, student interested in AI, self improvement, and romanticizing life