If Death Was My Lover

Things would be different

Ali
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

--

Photo by Önder Örtel on Unsplash

If death was my lover I would learn to live
While holding it close
Cherishing every day I was able to breathe
I would travel with death every night when I go to sleep
Giving it my full attention
A chance at what we could be

If death was my lover I would learn to love
So deep to a point of no retreat
I would lean close and whisper in its ear
Telling it about how much its presence
Has taught me to value life
And that I was no longer afraid
There’s a reason it’s part of my life

If death was my lover, it would be my best friend
No longer an acquaintance
It would help me plan out my life till the very end
I would be more focused
and not waste time
Putting my efforts into use to bring value to mankind

If death was my lover, I know I would be spoilt
With chances to enjoy the beauty in the world
We would dance as if life lasts forever
Allowing myself to be free
From worries that burden me

--

--

Ali
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

Enjoys writing poetry but also creative fiction and nonfictional pieces! Creativity bleeds through me and that includes art!