Importance of Diet and Fasting on the Spiritual Path

We become what we eat.

Manas_ Das
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
5 min readMay 21, 2024

--

Photo by Louis Hansel on Unsplash

Non-members can read the full article for free here.

We Become What We Eat

Food is one of the most important components of our life in general and the spiritual life in particular. Apart from the trivial fact of powering every cell to maintain our bodies, they impart us with the quality of energy. It is needless to stress the significance of the quality of our food. Until now we have been viewing the quality of our food only from the physical health perspective.

Physical health is undoubtedly the basis of our lives, but it doesn’t guarantee a happy and meaningful life. As long as survival was the only motto of life, good physical health was a sufficient means to that end. In this evolved game, where leading a meaningful and satisfying life is the goal, physical health becomes a necessary condition but is not sufficient anymore.

Incorporation of spirituality into our lives has proven to be a promising approach in this regard for countless individuals, including myself. While I transformed, I began perceiving food in an unprecedented way that raised my awareness of its importance beyond physical health. I realized that the quality of energy gained from food plays a significant role in my spiritual practices.

I changed my diet from a protein-oriented mix of non-vegetarian food to light vegetarian nourishments consisting of cereals, pulses, vegetables, fruits, dry fruits, seeds, and herbs. My focus shifted from a muscular, seemingly stronger body from the outside to a lighter & agile yet stronger body from the inside as well as the outside.

The energies from vegetarian & plant-based foods are more wholesome, balanced, ordered, light, alert, calm, and composed. In Ayurveda, this has been termed as Sattvic food that promotes the qualities of goodness, purity, non-attachment, well-being, stillness, and so on. These qualities and energies are extremely helpful in continuing on the path of spirituality.

My diet plan looks something like this
Breakfast: Fruits, dates, nuts, and seeds.
Lunch: Cereals, pulses, and vegetables.
Dinner: Tofu, mushroom, Soya chunks, herbs, etc.

I consume my food with as few spices, salt, and sugar as possible. I follow the rule to stop eating when I sense my stomach is almost 80% full. I avoid taking food after sunset. These habits augment my diet plan to maintain discipline in my practice. They help me stay focused, mindful, and alert. All these factors are required to get deeper into the meditative state.

This diet has helped me to become mentally balanced and discard agitations. They allow me to maintain my calmness and composure. They assist me in my ability to be in an equanimous state while I observe my inner feelings and emotions as they arise and dissolve. It doesn’t mean that the negative feelings of anger, greed, attachment, etc. don’t originate in me, but the kind of energy built inside enables me to not react to them.

A certain degree of dispassion for worldly matters and control over sensory organs is required for spiritual practices and my diet has been able to support these qualities. It also gives me the requisite energy to be mindful, alert, and focused on successful meditations. My food habits are also responsible for keeping me active and motivated to continue the practice with dedication.

Fasting: A Technique To Bounce Back

Perfect equanimity is ideal. Being in balance all the time, however grave or however joyous the situation may be, is a quality that can be honed with years of dedicated practice. In the initial years of the practice, past tendencies may throw you off the balance for a certain time. You could experience a dry spell leading to a feeling of demotivation or disconnection from divinity.

Like anything in this universe, this is also impermanent, and with your dedication, you are to bounce back with time. However, a few techniques can be implemented to improve your resilience. Fasting is one such effective technique. Conscious fasting acts as a rebellion against the forces trying to divert your awareness from your inner self. It boosts your willpower to break against the current of distractions and brings you back to the center.

However, fasting has to transcend superficiality and enter into the subtle zone of self-surrender. It doesn’t matter whether your belief system allows you to take this act as penance, self-correction, or self-reflection, the important thing is it should be performed with deeper expressions of submission. It is a form of submission to the universal consciousness to help cleanse your spiritual energies. It should be done with devotion and dedication to allow the universe to help you reconnect with your divine self.

Sometimes I get these dry spells, where I feel lethargic and unmotivated to pursue my spiritual practices with the same intensity. I usually feel off center and disconnected from my inner self. After acknowledging this, I plan to dedicate a day or two to relieve myself from these impure energies. I withdraw from most activities and devote myself to spiritual practices while observing the fast. I self-reflect, analyze, meditate, and try to tap again into the purest form of energy.

During this time, fasting helps me to focus on the intention of reconnection. My resolve to withdraw from all activities, including cooking, eating, thinking about food, reacting to hunger, etc. keeps me steadfast in my dedication to detoxifying energies. Since it is also a special act done with an intention, it psychologically invokes special energy from within to add to my devotion.

I have experienced the true magic of fastings in bringing me back to the center and have closely incorporated them into my spiritual life. Since they add to my spiritual energies, I have given myself the liberty to fast at least once in two weeks, even if I don’t feel disconnected. This technique has been followed for ages by many religions and cultures and its efficacy in my journey has been instrumental.

If you seek help in improving your mental health or spiritual practice, please check my mindfulness/meditation sessions.

Check my book Boxing Thoughts: A Technique to master your mind and Get into Meditation.

--

--

Manas_ Das
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

Writer, Mindfulness & Meditation practitioner, Wellness coach. My blogs can be found here - https://revealed.gen.in/blogs/