PETS

In the Cats’ Kingdom, My Baby Girl Would Undoubtedly Be the “Alpha”

She is a stubborn badass!

Myriam Ben Salem🦋
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
3 min readMar 13, 2021

--

Bear in mind she is a kitten aged between 8 and 9 months. I know how much she loves sitting in the window and observing the street, as well as visiting my neighbor’s garden on the first floor (my apartment is on the second).

Consequently, I like to take her for a walk, from time to time, as dogs’ owners do. Although, there is a difference. I don’t have a leash!

My beloved baby girl is a trouble-maker and I keep not learning my lesson. Every time, I tell myself before stepping outside that she would walk in my arms.

Appealingly, when I witness her sparkling eyes and that she starts moving insistently, I lose my willpower and set her free while making sure she’s safe.

She loves playing hide-and-seek with me using parked cars leaving me powerless, sometimes calling her gently; other times laughing at myself.

She decides to show up only when she can see me sitting calmly and implicitly announcing my defeat!

A few days ago, we were supposed to go to a small park nearby. For some reason, she was too excited. Thus, I released her whereas we were still in my residence parking lot.

--

--

Myriam Ben Salem🦋
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

A fur Momma, animal lover & advocate, lifelong learner, storyteller, edutainer, and published author. I write personal stories and essays.