It’s Your Journey…

Manasi J
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
2 min readMay 13, 2021
Image by Vlad Bagacian on Unsplash.com

It’s taken me some time. Time to be unperturbed by onslaught of accomplishments that stare at me through various social media channels. Varying from material to spiritual, grand to tiny, these personal milestones, while often inspiring also used to push me to question my self worth.

Most of the times we are all work in progress. With time, I have become more and more immune to Milestones. Milestones are called milestones for a reason. Firstly, they don’t come easy. And secondly, they are just an intermediate point and not the final destination. There is a wonderful line from a Hindi song, “Manzil is behtar lagne lage hai yeh raste”. It means that the paths along this journey have started to feel much better than the destination itself.

Over time, I have become less vocal about the journey as well. It is just so personal. It is the journey that I have undertaken for the reasons I am aware of. Explaining the journey and decisions taken along the way, started to feel like justifications. And I am tired of justifications and validations.

Smile that surfaces on my face when I stand up again after the stumble is sufficient for me now. I am not looking for someone else to pat my back on getting up. I will confess, that there was a time, when I did look for that pat. But I have moved past it. Frankly it’s so liberating. There is much more freedom in doing things whole heartedly. But yeah, I am talking utopia and I falter every now and then and almost immediately regret. But then simply move on, with another reminder to self : “It’s your journey, no one needs to know”.

--

--