Knowing Myself….(pt. 1)

Esther Obe
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
1 min readJun 27, 2021

--

Peace within. Peace, let me in.

If I sacrifice myself, I fear

there will be nothing else

so this

is why I seek to retain my

essence.

Change occurs. Change needs to

come.

Clinging to pasts will leave

you to burn.

But fire, it gives you warmth

whilst peace can leave you,

can give you up.

I find peace slippery and hard

to retain, I find old memories

needing to be replayed.

The lessons have already been

learnt, therefore meaning I have no

reason to get hurt.

I’ve admitted that I’m weak,

frail and incomplete.

That’s why I search and long

to find a missing piece.

Too bad it never fits

maybe because

it conspires to show me some secrets:

That to be content at the right

time is the law for being alive.

To know that what already lies

inside are paths, journeys

that are waiting for me to dive

into and to fly.

I rest with a changed heart with

peace, knowing that angels and gods are

within me.

--

--

Esther Obe
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

Growing pains// Passionate about poetry identity and blackness//Student