Layers of the Mind

Marcus aka Gregory Maidman
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

--

Tuesday Prompt and Inspired by 𝘋𝘪𝘢𝘯𝘢 𝘊.’s journal entry.

Hmmm. I know what you mean and agree with the statement:

Life can never be a complicated journey without us being the ones complicating it

I also disagree.

Life has plenty of complicated situations; with so many actors having bit parts, parts, supporting roles and leads, including those seeking to see their name in lights (says under my breath, “narcissistic/emotional vampires”) in our improvisational skits, and skits within skits…so perhaps intricate is a better word.

Life is intricately layered, but not all that complicated, when one knows where to look for the answers.

I’m reminded of one of my favorite parables my Jeckyll-and-Hyde uncle would impart:

A young couple are having marital problems. The wife’s mother takes them to see the Rabbi, expecting him to affirm whatever the mother’s view. The wife speaks first and tells the Rabbi what’s going on and her complaints, and the Rabbi says, ‘You’re right.’

Husband says: ‘wait you didn’t hear me yet.’ Husband tells his side of things, and the Rabbi says, ‘You’re right.’

Then the wife’s mother, quite upsettedly exclaims, “How can they both be right?’

Rabbi says, ‘You’re right!’

--

--

Marcus aka Gregory Maidman
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

Living 17,043rd human life. I am Marcus (universal name) or you may call me Greg; a deep thinker; an explorer of ideas and the mind.