Lessons in Stoicism From My Happiest Depressed Classmate

He changed my perspective of unsatisfaction

Nav W. 🧠
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
3 min readAug 16, 2024

--

Photo by Joshua Earle on Unsplash

On a random Tuesday, a new student came into my class, it turns out he’s a successful and wise entrepreneur, who is in his 30s.

Fortunately, I was able to work on a project next to him. From our conversation, I can infer that his well-spokenness is a part of his success.

But I want to know more. So, I consult him.

He talked about how countless hard work made him a manager at a top company.

He was always the first one to arrive company and the last one to leave, rushing through deadlines to complete a perfect presentation.

All sounds fine, but why did he go back to college for lectures?

It’s because he was never happy.

There were a lot of rumors about his commitment and rapid promotion in the company. He can never make friends with two-faced colleagues.

He said: ‘I thought it would be easier to make friends when you reached the top as they want to get close to me. And I was wrong. I could never find satisfaction in such a toxic atmosphere.’

‘I have had depression for a year already. The more I tried to find happiness in pain, the more I suffered. It’s like a never-ending loophole.’

‘I tried to be stoic and endure the pain. I rubbed it the wrong way and became depressed for a long time.’

I was shocked.

He seemed so cheerful all the time. He never looked like he had depression.

He said something I’ll remember for the rest of my life:

Don’t make the same mistake as me. I never prioritized myself.

Stoicism is not just showing endurance to suffer, it’s how you truly simplify the pain and enjoy it with inner joy.

Most of us think that smiling shows your wisdom, how you take it like a champion. But you can’t lie to yourself about your true feelings.

During my first year of study in college, I always look for recognition and try to fit in my friend circle. I never realized what I like and most importantly, I don’t know how to reject something I don’t like.

I took stoicism the wrong way.

I thought the more I endured the pain the more the stronger I’ll become.

No one knows what you want to do. You are the one to take care of your future.

You never truly embrace stoicism if you feel negative while suffering.

Many of us hide our inner selves to satisfy others. However, that’s not always the case because repressing emotion can be countereffective.

The best way to do it is to prioritize ourselves. Do what you love, do what you want.

Most importantly, live in the present and find your passion.

Thank you for reading.

‘Remember to wordsmith reality.’

Love,

Nav

--

--

Nav W. 🧠
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

An Introvert who shares personal stories to inspire growth and authenticity while striving to help you live the life you desire.