Photo by Yaroslav Shuraev from Pexels

Living in Overwhelm

What I just realized about my life

Heather Hoskison
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
6 min readJul 11, 2021

--

This morning I slept in. I’ve been exhausted. Running to and from work and then to doctor’s appointments, 3, 4, 5 per week — and technically, I’m not sick. I came home yesterday after work and laid in the hot steamy sun for a bit listening to my favorite podcast. As the sun went down and the shade began to fall on my face and cool me down, I dozed off a few minutes. I was told not to take long naps with a concussion, but man do I want to SLEEP!

I lifted my head, wincing as pain shot from my neck through my temple into my eye. Breathe. Slowly I stood up, gathered my coloring book, markers and water-bottle and stepped off the deck into the kitchen. Somedays I can’t believe how lucky I am to live here. I dropped my stuff on the living room floor and turned on the music, the week’s chaos starting to melt away, I drew a hot bath, shed my sweaty tank top and shorts, sprinkled Epsom salt across the surface of the water and lowered myself in. Water therapy.

Today, I woke up at my normal time. While the crazy dream I just had was still fresh in my minds eye, I grabbed for my phone and dictated a note. This is the easiest way for me to record my dreams. I can speak and visualize the scene without having to open my eyes, focus on writing, paper or pen. I don’t know if I will ever go back to these notes, but I’ve…

--

--

Heather Hoskison
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

I find writing a way for me to clarify, process, and express my thoughts and feelings. This is my journey.