Morning Coffee In The Sun

Madeleine Royce
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
1 min readApr 18, 2021

30 Days of Poetry Day 8: Delight in the moment

Photo by Clay Banks on Unsplash

I step outside to greet the day
The sounds of life flood my ears
The birds, the bugs, the passing cars
All reminders that the world spins on

But on my porch, standing in the sun
I am enveloped in my own small world
Where, if only for a moment,
All I feel is warmth and peace

So long as there is coffee in my cup
I can remain on pause
I savor every last drop
And delight in the moment

This is a special time
Carved out of every busy day
Where I take some minutes all alone
To connect with my quiet self

The time, it passes too quickly
At the bottom of the empty cup
I can hear the outside world calling
The hustle and bustle of the “must do” list creeping in my brain

I pause for one more second
Take a deep breath
Remind myself that I will be back tomorrow
And set off to start the day

--

--

Madeleine Royce
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

I write about life. Healing, growing, truly living. Trauma can hold us down, sometimes just sharing your story will set you free.