Morning Love

Me and you four.

--

Image by Shane McKnight

I share my bed with four others
Jet
my sweet Izzy
and you

Izzy
curls up
into a ball near your feet
sometimes in between your leg
her purr, always
louder
then the cars driving by

Jet lays
horizontally
unconfined to the direction and regulations
of the bed
his paws
digging into my back
he stretches to full length
as if trying to keep in touch
with both of us at night
so he knows that we are still there
his large chocolate eyes
always
half-opened.

You sleep on your left side, always
without clothes
hair spread across the pillow
blanket
only over half of your body
so that every morning
when I see you
I don’t want to leave.

Weekly book reviews, micro-fiction stories and poetry straight to your inbox.

https://brokensticks.substack.com/

--

--