Mother’s Day is No Longer A Needed Celebration For Me

Every day is now mine to celebrate in my own way

Catherine Oceano
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

--

Photo credit: author’s husband

It’s Mother's Day here where I live in Canada. I will receive text messages and phone calls. No one has offered to take me for lunch or cook me dinner. And I no longer have to produce a large meal for my children so they can give me cards that tell me they love me. I regret none of these.

I’m not especially fond of this day. If you are a mother you know that the journey is long and accolades are not part of the reward system. Nor should they be. The job description if there was one would be lengthy and complex. And there is no probation period. You just keep on going whether your performance might be rated as fantastic or just good enough.

It’s a task that begins with the arrival of your offspring and ends when you die or they do. And the latter is not something I would wish on anyone having lost a child myself. But a day created to implore us to express gratitude for our mothers seems artificial and unnecessary.

None of this is to say that being a mother is without joy. Being one has captured the longest stretch of my life’s journey, beginning when I was twenty-two. My firstborn tossed me into the ocean of motherhood and it was probably the most profound moment of my life. I was filled with love…

--

--

Catherine Oceano
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

old but not dead, mother, partner, grandmother, writer, Canadian Become a Medium member and support great writers like me.