RELATIONSHIPS

My Adorable New Soul Friend Sandia Was My Very Favorite Part of My First Volunteering Program in Brazil

When she joined the program, I was watching her from distance and smiling peacefully! Our bond was magical!

Myriam Ben Salem🦋
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
7 min readJun 7, 2021

--

Courtesy of the author: my friend’s priceless gift!

As you dissolve into love, your ego fades. You’re not thinking about loving; you’re just being love, radiating like the sun. — Ram Dass.

Sandia is the kind of folks whose presence is as gentle as a breeze and as bright as the sunshine. That’s why I was smiling every time I was observing her interactions with others!

Our bond was instant. I was exhausted and having some rest in my tent when I received a message from her asking whether we could discuss, which I welcomed without hesitation.

I knew from her that another volunteer updated her about some of the very disgusting stories shared by the main host. She was expressing how disappointed she was and I was merely validating her legitimate feelings.

I didn’t even need to add my misadventure to the package. Should you have missed it and feel curious about it, you may be served here:

--

--

Myriam Ben Salem🦋
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

A fur Momma, animal lover & advocate, lifelong learner, storyteller, edutainer, and published author. I write personal stories and essays.