My Elevator Introduction

Finding my identity

Life Fighting Ed
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
2 min readSep 13, 2023

--

It’s been a particularly rough go around these last few weeks. In the midst of the chaos of having a large family I have found myself drowning. In the past, I would cope in a variety of [unhealthy] ways to keep my head above water. In all of this therapy and treatment I am trying to unlearn those behaviors and find some more positive coping skills. Trying being the key word.

It’s incredibly challenging. To unlearn what is so deeply ingrained in me.

So while I am working to leave those things behind I am making room for me to be, well, me. But what is that? Who is this person? Am I a person? For so long I have felt like an object that it’s hard to even consider that I can be more. So? Who am I? My therapist has challenged me to think about how I would quickly describe myself. Thus, my elevator introduction.

Who am I?

A writer. A mother with a fiery love for her five children. An advocate. A carpool karaoke partner with music flowing in her soul. A God-fearing, imperfect person. A never ending student. A compassionate confidant. A thrill seeker and travel enthusiast. A Chiefs fan. A hard working go getter. An encourager. Just a girl with a playful heart that wants to do some good in this world.

I’m me.

A moment captured when I felt at peace, just being me.

--

--