My Granddaughter and I Spend a Day

Relearning to relish play at a toddler’s pace

Catherine Oceano
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

--

Photo credit: Catherine Dunn-Gilbert, author

The baby splashes her yogurt and berries on the high chair tray. She uses the spoon to scoop and scrape, to drag small quantities to her mouth. Her success with the utensil is limited so often her hands are used. The plate was dumped onto the tray some minutes after she started eating. I caught it before she tossed it to the ground. She’s indifferent to the mess.

I take that back. I think she enjoys watching the food fall to the ground when she decisively leans the spoon toward the floor or when she does get the opportunity to toss the bowl.

It’s best when I visit with my dogs. They watch carefully for items they like best to land on the floor and then they scurry over to clean up. Rover and Kali are helpful in this regard. When they aren’t with us the floor is a much less tidy place after the meal.

I carry the baby to the sink and hold her hands under the warm flowing water. Then I take a cloth and wipe her face. This is not her favourite part. The bib is removed and sometimes the clothing underneath depending on the reach of her eating process. Yogurt-decorated pants do not go well being dragged down the hall. Mostly she walks these days. Toddles like a drunk meandering after the next beverage. But occasionally she crawls.

--

--

Catherine Oceano
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

old but not dead, mother, partner, grandmother, writer, Canadian Become a Medium member and support great writers like me.