My Inner Critic

What self-doubt does to me

Rayna Pummel
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
2 min readApr 25, 2022

--

Created by Author Via Canva

I wake up every morning

with a war zone in my head.

Worry, self-doubt, & perfection

taking me to the trenches again.

Self-proclaimed guardians,

filled with their good intentions.

That is until they come in contact

with my cunning addicted thinking.

Then what should be a normal day

turns their intentions into obsessions.

I was told my brain is imbalanced

causing my thoughts to be distorted.

With such a skilled way of persuasion,

even my body believes it cannot function.

So I wake up every morning

and put on my armor for the battle.

Worry, self-doubt & perfection

may be strong, but it’s nothing I can’t handle.

Even when they try their very best to destroy me,

the lessons from my losses only loosen these shackles they think will hold me.

Thank you Ravyne Hawke for the inspiration this week!!! I appreciate you all for reading!!! Thank you and if you so choose to explore my work, below is the prompt link as well as a few of my most recent pieces! jules Diana C. Spyder You guys are truly amazing thank you KHTH!

I write to explore, express, and encourage those who can relate to share their stories, you never know who needs to hear what you have to say! I have chosen M.T. Pariti Daniel R. Fincher Hayden Moore to write how they have overcome or still fight their battle with self-doubt if they so choose to share!

Thank you!

--

--

Rayna Pummel
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

A Recovering Addict, Mother of 2, 27 year old ♒ This is my experience, strength, and truth about my journey to untangling my mind. unscriptedwaywithwords.com