My Veil

a poem

ADEOLA SHEEHY-ADEKALE
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

--

Image by Katsiaryna Endrusz on Unsplash

I never wore a veil for you
But I hid my eyes
I maintained a shadow of myself
A mask that shifted with time

My veil was self-inflicted
A permanent disguise
Forgotten in its familiarity
A betrayal that cemented lies

A veil that blanketed me in fog
To stop me from being seen
A mist over a mirror
A world behind a screen

The time has come to raise the veil
And meet my own eyes
To uncover all my truths
And heed their hidden cries

I never wore a veil for you
That path was not mine to walk
I am ready now to be visible
And be the hero that I sought

This piece was taken from my debut collection ‘Climbing In The Dark’.

To read more of my work and support my writing buy me a cup of tea to keep the creative fires burning and sign up to receive a weekly love letter into your inbox on Monday morning sign up here.

--

--

ADEOLA SHEEHY-ADEKALE
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

Writing on female experience, race, motherhood & self-development. Columnist at Green Parent magazine & Parenting Top Writer. Follow me on IG @adeola_moonsong.