My Worst Financial Mistake? Being An Abuse Victim

Rebuilding After Escaping Money Manipulation

I consider myself pretty responsible and knowledgeable when it comes to my finances. I’m also, as discussed in previous articles, thousands of dollars in debt. Is that crushing number something that should cause me shame?

Woman hiking in the mountains wearing a jacket and REI backpack
Photo by author: Veronica Wren

Over the course of our five years together, my abuser did his best to worm his way into any of my resources that he could, including property and finances.

The ways he stole and manipulated my finances away were as innumerable as they were schem-y, so this summary is by no means all-encompassing. His leeching bled me dry as I scrambled to staunch wounds he kept me too dizzy to see.

In my ongoing efforts to validate other survivors and protect victims who may be unknowingly being manipulated, I’ve compiled just a few of the tactics he employed below.

These are things that are, in many cases, embarrassing to admit, but I believe they’re important to share.

Watch the Pennies and the Dollars Will Take Care of Themselves

Shortly after we began dating, my abuser moved in with me “temporarily”, in what I was told was an attempt to cut ties with his previous partner.

--

--

Veronica Wren - Trauma Sucks. Recovery Shouldn't.
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

Trauma sucks. Recovery shouldn't. Subscribe here for your FREE exclusive guided journal ❤️‍🩹 bio.link/veronicawren ❤️‍🩹 Domestic Abuse & CPTSD Recovery Coach