Self-Awareness|Life Lessons|Self-Improvement

Never Lose Who You Really Are

Not Everything Needs Changed

Rita Duponty
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
2 min readJan 26, 2024

--

Photo by Caroline Veronez on Unsplash

I loved the large jewelry. One-pendant necklaces. Growing up in the hippy era this type of jewelry was the thing. Large and bold.

However, my husband at the time couldn’t stand it. This was symptomatic about what was next to come. The next 19 years were spent trying to dress, talk, and even walk in a way that pleased him.

It is only natural to want to please your mate. The question is …how far do you go? When do you lose yourself?

Some changes I made, suggestions made by my husband, actually were for the better. He had great taste in many things. Of course, he married me. Humor aside, some other changes that I attempted to make to please him were definitely not me.

I lived with the smaller jewelry in not wearing the ones he didn’t like; but when he wanted me to walk with more of a swing, that was overboard.

Gradually over the years I lost some of the smaller things that were really me.

For instance, I loved learning new words. Not his thing. So, I was requested to keep my speech simple in not using words he didn’t know. Well, that squelched that for about 19 years.

--

--