New Ways Of Being

Be Curious, Not Judgmental

Bobby Kountz
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

--

Photo by Gary Butterfield on Unsplash

ADVANCE CONFIDENTLY!

“Be curious, not judgmental.” ~Walt Whitman

At the intersection of opposing ideas is wisdom…

Will you seek it out? Can you quiet your voice of judgment long enough to embrace the infinite power of curiosity and imagination? Can you quell the desire to be right over the desire to learn and grow? Can you hold two opposing ideas and maintain the ability to function effectively?

F. Scott Fitzgerald wrote about this, Steve Jobs spoke about it, and I discovered this supporting article about it, Giving Up Your Best Loved Ideas and Starting Over

Here are five ideas for New Ways Of Being

Listen to understand rather than listening to reply

Let the other person finish expressing themselves completely and then, instead of adding to the conversation, ask if they have anything else to share before you reply.

I will be the first one to tell you that this is a real challenge for me. It is something I work on continuously. All change comes through awareness. Now that I’m aware of my propensity to interject what I have to say into a conversation, I am intentionally trying to focus on letting the other person finish completely before I say anything.

--

--

Bobby Kountz
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

I am an Inspirationalist! Quote Enthusiast, Inspirational Writer/Speaker - Author -THE SOMEDAY SOLUTION - Mindset, Confidence, Curiosity, Creativity, Gratitude.