ESSAY

On Auras and Empaths

How Energy Affects Me

Ravyne Hawke
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
4 min readJun 24, 2020

--

Image by Bibi Tinsley from Pixabay

From the time I was six years old, I have been able to see auras — colorful energy fields around people. Of course, I didn’t know what it was called when I was a child and I thought everyone could see them. I would go up to my mom and say things like, you are so blue today! To which she would reply, no I am happy today. To me, that’s what I meant. She didn’t understand. I would see certain people in church with beautiful purple auras and I just knew they were having a deep, spiritual experience. I could also tell when people were angry or sad by either black or greyish auras surrounding them. Newborns and toddlers glowed white, so brightly that it often made me squint when I looked at them.

I remember being so excited by what I saw, but when I told people, they looked at me strange and told me to leave them alone. Their auras would dim; I took this as a sign of confusion. If their auras changed colors, I took it as a sign of fear. It was then that I realized, not everyone could see auras and this was probably something I should keep to myself.

What initially made me feel special and unique, however, slowly became more of a curse. Over time, not only could I see people’s energy fields, but I could also feel their energy. Sometimes, the energies were exhilarating, positive and beautiful…

--

--

Ravyne Hawke
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

Writing Coach, Poet, Fiction Writer, Essayist, Artist, Dreamer | “Enlightenment is when a wave realizes it is the Ocean” ~Thich Nhat Hanh