Physical Healing is just the Beginning

I’m still severely anorexic.

Life Fighting Ed
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
2 min readOct 2, 2023

--

Why do I do this to myself? I know better. I just stepped down from IOP for goodness sakes. But Ed (eating disorder) is SCREAMING.

Physical recovery is only a small piece of eating disorder recovery. Sure, I have weight restored. But as I sit at my son’s soccer game all I can think about is how to not eat anything else until supper. Overwhelmed with guilt for eating a fig bar I start obsessing over calorie counts and plans for tomorrow. The thoughts of how much weight I need to lose, FAST, in order to feel better, to be enough, to have control, keep cycling through on repeat.

It’s exhausting to be constantly fighting.

A couple of months back my therapist was talking to another professional and referred to me as “severely anorexic.” My immediate thought was that there was no way I could still be categorized in that way. I had been maintaining an acceptable weight for weeks! Sitting there I pondered…what qualifies as severely anorexic? What qualifies as anorexic?

Sitting here now, trapped in my own head, I realize I am still severely anorexic.

What I see in front of me is very different than what’s playing in my mind.

The scale does not determine the severity of my illness. Lab results do not decide how sick or healthy I am. Eating multiple meals and snacks every day doesn’t equate recovery. It’s the mindset behind it all that needs healing. I can’t tell you how many times I have fought the urge to buy a scale, skip a meal, restrict calories, pace around, watch triggering content, body check, purge…just in the last 24 hours. The fact that I can now identify that these types of thoughts are Ed means I am one step closer to being free, but it also means I am still in the thick of my battle. Completing intensive outpatient does not mean it’s time for me to sit back and relax. If anything, it means I need to work even harder on my own.

Ed makes everything seem so appealing so it’s time to question what he offers. Why do I miss my body that couldn’t function properly? Why do I miss the added anxiety? Why do I miss having precious time with family and friends tainted by fear? Why do I miss the muscle twitches? Why do I miss not being able to sing because it made me woozy?

Simple answer: because I am severely anorexic.

Thankfully I now have seen glimmers of what life can be outside of this illness. I have been taught tools to help me along the journey. And I have hope that someday I can say that Ed is history. For the time being, I will keep going in this life fighting Ed.

--

--