Pursuit of Peace

A poem that gradually brightens

Nicholas Breen
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
2 min readApr 30, 2023

--

Photo by Candice Seplow on Unsplash

Medicated, I feel dull.
A heart in pieces which may never be full.
A warmth gone from soul, replaced with cold.
That would change with someone to hold.
Perhaps when I’m old.
A piece of my mind sold.

Together we argue, contradicting goals and wants.
We are a dichotomy, two energies tearing apart.
The one in the middle, me.

I am troubled, silently unstable.
I want to bear meaning, create a fate of importance.

Whether I wither or grow,
I must expand what others know

A cell, a wave, a feather
A part of something greater

A piece of a higher power.
Ascend higher, like climbing a tower.

I can rebuild,
perhaps with the right group or guild.
I must harden my shell, my shield.

Reinstate resilience and diminish degradation.
An individual within a nation.

Hopefully one day a catalyst of constructive change.

I can help build a future brighter.

I can use my powers to refine and shine,
a light known as my own.
No need for a phone.
Progress, as long as we’re not alone.
Regardless of origin, ethnicity, religion, or skin tone.

I have the ability to connect, to form peace.

Create as much as you can, and eventually others will follow.
I desire unity, connection, love, and an undying peace for others to know.

--

--

Nicholas Breen
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

Aspiring author who writes for the dreamers, the learners, the unknown poets and people of this world. To learn more about me: https://tinyurl.com/TheBreenShow